It’s the end of a very long work day for me, so this is just going to be a brief note. The first cut in CBC Radio 3’s Searchlight Contest for Canada’s Best Music Website was yesterday (or was it today because I still haven’t made it to sleep?). Here the long list was narrowed down to a… umm… shorter long list of 60 sites. And… EhBSeasides didn’t make it to the next round.

I’ll admit I’m a little bummed at being out of the competition so early, but it really is the outcome I expected for this round. Thank you so much to anyone who voted for this site! Your support means the world to me. Please keep voting in the following rounds – there are so many great sites on the list and many of my friends have made it to the next round of competition. Thank you to everyone who came to visit this site because of Searchlight (I checked my page stats, I know there’s a few of you!), even if your vote went elsewhere. I hope you’ll come back to visit from time to time. Most of all, a very big thank you to CBC Radio 3 for running Searchlight. Many of us bloggers do what we do just to share our love of Canadian music, and we don’t expect any sort of pay or praise. Being recognized by something like Searchlight goes a long way to making it feel like this is not all just a waste of time. This contest shines a light on not only the amazing music, but the amazing fans and music supporters this country is producing.

