The Victoria Record Club: We’re a ragtag bunch of music lovers who meet somewhat irregularly at the record store Talk’s Cheap to share our love of music on vinyl. (A shout out to the owner Tiemen for letting us crash his store every time!) For each meeting of Record Club, the members are supposed to go and acquire a new piece of vinyl and then write a review or a story about their album. Since we’ve been a little lax on the review/story part of our meetings, I decided to write a bit here about the albums I’ve brought to record club so far. If you’re around the Victoria area and are interested in joining us, head on over to the Record Club Facebook group.

Meeting #1: September 21st 2010

Album: The Kinks, Give the People What They Want

Tracks played: Around the Dial, Give the People What They Want

Why I chose to bring this: I think this was the very first record I ever bought, so it was fitting that I brought this album to the inaugural meeting of the Victoria Record Club. The first track is all about radio and DJs so it was doubly fitting for the Record Club as our fearless leader is non other than the Zone.fm‘s Jeremy Baker. (Jeremy did I ever tell you that’s why I brought the album?)

Album: Japandroids, Younger Us 7″

Tracks played: Younger Us

Why I chose to bring this: Two of my favourite memories of 2010 involve Japandroids. The first was at the Sasquatch festival. In a weekend that was packed to the brim with excitement, a good friend and I were super stoked to see Japandroids. While waiting for the set to start we met a guy who complimented me on my Dan Mangan “Pac Mangan” t-shirt. Our exchange went something like this: “Where did you get that shirt?!?!” “Oh it’s Dan’s new t-shirt. I just bought it at his show in Victoria. He said it should be for sale on the web soon.” “I’m gonna buy the shit outta that shirt!!!” Thanks to this random guy at the Japandroids set, I still grin every time I dig out the Pac Mangan shirt. To top it off, Japandroids played one heck of a set at the festival. It started off by them saying that their gear was missing in air transit and that they were playing with borrowed instruments, and it ended with thanking the crowd for helping them have one of their better sets as of late. My other Japandroids memory of 2010 was the Ladyhawk / Japandroids show at Logan’s back in October. I had been going to a lot of shows solo around that time but I managed to convince a bunch of friends to go to this one. I even somehow managed to convince a friend from Vancouver to visit Victoria for the first time to see this show. (I’m sure that technically it was Japandroids who convinced him to come for the visit, but either way it was fun times.) It was great to be at a show with so many good friends who were just as into the band as I was.

Meeting #2: November 3rd 2010


Album: Brasstronaut, Mt. Chimaera

Tracks played: Slow Knots, Hearts Trompet

Why I chose to bring this: This is one of my favourite albums of 2010, and I’m a big time Brasstronaut fan. In fact, I think I’ve seen them every single time they’ve played Victoria. Call me a sucker for bands with a trumpet if you will, but this is still a great album. I just bought my vinyl copy of Mt. Chimera when Brasstronaut played Rifflandia and this was our first meeting following the festival. I thought that Brasstronaut would be a group that maybe not many members of Record Club would be familiar with, and I wanted to share my love of the band.

Meeting #3: February 8th 2011


Album: Black Mountain, Wilderness Heart

Tracks played: The Hair Song, Let Spirits Ride

Why I chose to bring this: Picking an album for this meeting of Record Club was infinitely more difficult than what it was for our other meetings. With purchases from Rifflandia, albums bought in the Christmas season, and a stack of records bought off a friend who moved to Ottawa, I had no shortage of choices. Confession: When I left the house the morning of this gathering I actually brought six records with me thinking that I would decide on one eventually. In the end, I felt like listening to something a little on the heavy side, so Wilderness Heart got the spotlight this night. Cool story: I won this record from CBC Radio 3’s Trivia Tuesday with Grant Lawrence. I actually originally won the album in CD format, but admitted to Grant that I had just bought the same CD a couple of days before. Deciding that it would be no problem to find a friend who would like a free Black Mountain CD, I told Radio 3 to send the disc anyways and I’d pass it along to someone. A couple months passed and I actually forgot that I had even won the album. I was totally surprised when the vinyl copy arrived in the mail one day. Thanks so much to whoever at Radio 3 hooked me up! (And sorry to whatever friend was going to get the extra Black Mountain CD, but I’m keeping the vinyl!)

